homebuyer’s education

Today Matthew and I attended a homebuyer’s education course, put on by INHP (Indianapolis Neighborhood Housing Partnership). We were required to attend, as are all those attempting to receive financing through INHP. Naturally, I was dreading this day. I assumed that it would be like so many other mandatory classes: long, redundant, uninformative, and ultimately pointless and a waste of my time. A perfect example would be the defensive driving course I completed last night–and just so you don’t judge me like I judged people previously, you only need two tickets in a year to have to take the course–which was an abysmal waste of time.

In the case of this course, I was completely wrong in my assumption. This class was incredibly informative and helpful. I’d even go so far as to recommend it to anyone considering buying a home, whether or not you have income restrictions or intend to seek financing through an organization like INHP. We heard about each step of the home-buying process from professionals who work at each level: the presentation on shopping for a loan was given by a lender, a home inspector gave us info on the inspection, and we even heard about the tax benefits of home ownership from an IRS employee. It was phenomenal.

Obviously, INHP is an Indy-specific organization, but I imagine most cities and towns of significant size will have their own versions of non-profits with a similar mission. Of course I can’t vouch for the education programs at those organizations, but this one was great. And free!

And now I gotta run. As I type, our dinner is burning.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

