no winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn

Springtime. That word has such a hopeful sound to, doesn’t it? When I was younger, I used to think that spring was overrated. I mean, it just rains all the time, and it’s not as warm as you want (you can hardly ever go barefoot), and anyway, summer is really where it’s at. As I got older, though, and winter really started to affect me more and more, my affection for spring has grown.

You may know the feeling. After the long, dark, cold, seemingly interminable months of winter, suddenly! One day is different. It’s a scent in the air, a bounce in  your step, a feeling in the blustery breezes that tells you spring is coming, is here, and winter once again has passed. And while your circumstances may be exactly the same as they were just a day prior, your mindset has changed. There’s hope, once again, after the months of seeming hopelessness. It’s not so bad after all, and you figure you can make it. What seemed insurmountable between November and February is attainable come March.

This week has held a hint of spring for me. I know it’s just going to get cold again, but I honestly don’t care. This week has reminded me that winter never lasts forever. Spring always comes, and whatever it is about winter that mysteriously affects me so greatly is lifted. I love that first true spring day, the wild hope that springs (ahem…haha) up in my heart, the urge I have to skip rather than walk, the crazy desire to wear dresses every day, even though really? It’s not that warm. This week, even the reminder that this day is coming, has remarkably lightened my heart.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

3 thoughts on “no winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn”

  1. I drove with my windows down yesterday. Heat off. No coat. Windows Down. It was, what? 45*, maybe. Still, the sun was out and my spirits were up 🙂

What do you think?

