i want.

Today, I want to sit down with a friend and drink coffee. I want to dangle our feet off a front porch, swinging our legs in the sun. I want to read a really good book, or pretend to read it, while somebody strums a guitar and a few people sing lazily along. I want warm weather, and skirts, and good friends, and a porch. I really, really want a porch today. I want conversation, but not about anything important. I want to pretend that nothing is stressful, that I haven’t cried almost every day for weeks (thank you, hormones and stress), that I’m not so terribly, terribly tired. I want other people. I want to sit quietly while other people talk, and laugh, and I don’t want anyone to ask me how I am. Or if I’m ready for a baby. Or what our plans are. Or if everything is ready.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

