scattered thoughts.

Well…one month later…we have a baby! I think that fact may have been obvious by the long delay in writing, but I guess one should never assume. Eliza Kay was born April 20th at 7:05 in the morning, twenty-seven hours after my water broke. They were the longest hours of my life, I thought it would never end, and yet now, somehow, I remember them fondly because they brought me my daughter.

Some random thoughts:

1. Wanna know what surprised me about labor? I promise it’s not gross. I was surprised by the shaking. After twelve or thirteen hours, when I decided to get the epidural, I realized I was kind of spazzing a little bit. I guess shaking is a side effect of labor (pain?) AND epidurals, so after ten more hours I was shaking the bed with my spasms. It was weird. And kind of funny. Or as funny as anything can be when you’ve been in labor for years. Just kidding…I know people who’ve gone longer, so I don’t want to seem over-dramatic here.

2. Post-birth, I have been surprised by many things. But mainly I have been surprised by how calm I have been. I expected to be a complete wreck, crying every day for the first three weeks (I don’t do well with being tired), and wrestling with the baby blues. Turns out, sometimes (only sometimes!) having low expectations is a really good thing, because these four weeks have been sooo much better than I expected. There have been tears, including those wept on the dark night I decided never to have another child. I have since changed my mind. However, the overall feeling is one of well-being, and overwhelming love of this little one. She is precious! And mine! And that is unbelievable.

3. Finally, I have obviously not been sleeping very much. My sleep schedule consists of naps, which I never thought I would do again after my sophomore year of college. But here I am again, less out of desire to have a good time and more because there’s a human who will die if I don’t get up and feed her, and let me tell you…the dreams I’m having during these two hour naps I call a good night’s sleep? They are kuh-razy. In no particular order, let me just give you an idea.

-zombies.

-ninjas (one of whom beheaded someone right. in. front. of me. which was not very gross, only because it was a dream.)

-a massive tornado which carried a man high in the air and then ran him into a billboard?

-campground bathroom…I think I was hiding from someone in there.

-Dave Chapelle made an appearance.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, has been my life in the last four weeks since we last met.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

5 thoughts on “scattered thoughts.”

  1. Haha! Love this post. I can relate to the LONG labor (three days for me and sadly, no epidural) two hour naps, crazy dreams, and crying over the fact that I swore to never have another child (I said that many times but have since changed my mind too). Oh, and of course can relate to the sense of well being and the love felt for my baby (ies). The best is yet to come. Hang in there through the tough times and before you know it, you’ll be crying at Elizas first birthday party because you realize how fast the time went by.

    1. wow…three days. you are superwoman! i have decided that natural childbirth is possible, you just have to be REALLY committed to the idea of it, and i realized i was not. i was very dedicated to getting through it. 🙂 i’m just thankful that whatever route we choose to take, we have options. i’m thinking maybe for our second i will give natural another chance, but i’m still not committing…which probably means another epidural. 🙂

  2. Congrats!

    Just discovered your blog. 🙂 As to zombies…I still dream about them! Awful. No ninjas. Just zombies (which is bad enough). Sorry to say that Chapelle hasn’t bothered to make an appearance. Yet!

    1. Thanks for commenting Jessica! You are officially my first non-friend comment. This is a big deal. 🙂

      I checked out YOUR website…love it! I have a feeling I’ve discovered a new fave. I love small town Indiana.

  3. REBA! you’re back 🙂

    This post made me so happy, and relieved to know things are off to a good (if exhausting) start). Can’t wait to see you in June!

    Love, Meg
    p.s. I’m writing this from the Tokyo Airport. EEEK!

What do you think?

