the not-so-short-anymore list.

1. Why is it that when you want to be the quietest, you end up making the most noise?

2. Note to self: adding the word “pants” to the end of a word does not a nickname make. Examples from yesterday: grouchypants, grumpypants, and my personal favorite: crazypants.

3. Somebody stole my easy-going baby and replaced her with a high-strung 11-week-old who fights sleep with every muscle in her body. I feel like I’m going to have to wear her for the rest of her babyhood to get a good nap in, and let me tell you. I’m not strong enough. Did I mention that two weeks ago, she weighed 13 lbs and 4 oz? Yeah.

4. I’m going to take a page from my friend Megan’s book, and make a list of 25 things I want to accomplish in my 25th year of life. More on that to come.

5. I don’t want Eliza to grow up. This is just a fact. BUUUUT I am so very excited for the day she is old enough for me to read to her. I have all these lists of stories and books filed away in my brain and I can’t wait to share them with her. I hope she enjoys a good story. I’m going to need to polish up on my funny voices to make sure she does.

6. In some ways, I am not a very good mother…or at least not a very on-top-of-it mother. I don’t cut Eliza’s fingernails as often as I should, and I don’t bathe her as often as some might think is necessary (but let’s face it–I don’t bathe as often as some might think necessary), and my outfit of choice for her is a diaper, sometimes accessorized with a headband just so folks know she’s a girl. But I take time every day to cuddle with her, and to chat with her and listen to what she has to say, even though it’s not much yet. I try to sing to her every day, and tell her I love her, and pray for her. What I want, what I really really want? (haha…sorry) is for her to have a tender heart towards God, and other people. I hope I can model that for her, and if she has dirt under her fingernails or goes around shirtless for much of the first year of her life? Well, I think I can handle that.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

1 thought on “the not-so-short-anymore list.”

  1. The font looks like my scribbling and is hard to read. Otherwise I enjoy being a spectator of the goings on in your home nursery, and other comments as they arive.

What do you think?

