a lazy kind of morning.

I can’t seem to muster the will to get moving this morning. I woke up a little after seven to feed Eliza, and while I haven’t gone back to sleep, I haven’t really accomplished anything. And I’m perfectly happy with that. My morning has been lovely. Eliza went back to sleep and I crawled back in bed with a book and two of yesterday’s leftover cornmeal waffles and some coffee. Nothing better than breakfast and a book in bed.  I’ve spent the rest of the morning alternating between a book, soothing Eliza (who loves nothing better than to doze off, wake up, fight sleep, doze off, and repeat the cycle endlessly throughout the day), and reading the blogs of some dear friends.

I’ve been enjoying this season of rest. I’ve had jobs I’ve disliked for almost three years now, and the things I love have been let go due to the mental exhaustion of working a mind-numbing day job that lacks mental stimulation. I’m remembering how much I like to plan meals and cook, how nice it feels to stay on top of household tasks (although admittedly, that one is still hard for me), how much I looove to read, and how revitalizing it feels to write. I’m blessed with a (very) part-time job that I love and look forward to, that challenges me and helps me grow in my writing and musical capabilities. I guess you could call this post the flip side of the coin from the one i wrote two weeks ago. Those things are still true, but the funny thing about being human is that you can experience several states of mind almost simultaneously.

Today is a lazy, grateful, content kind of day. These kind of days don’t make hard days and those emotions any less legitimate, neither do hard days cheapen the joyful days. They ebb and flow together, and, well, that’s just the way it is.

So for now, I’m going to enjoy my lazy (in a good way) morning, and be productive this afternoon.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

