nerd.

I’m going to let you in on a food nerd moment that happened yesterday, simply because I am still very excited about it. If you are friends with me on facebook, or if we have had many conversations in real life, you will know that I love breakfast food. Breakfast to me is a description, not a particular meal that must take place at a particular time of day. I would estimate that we have breakfast for dinner about once a week, and I probably eat breakfast for lunch a couple times a week (why have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich when you can have peanut butter and jelly toast?!).

So for a couple of people who eat waffles or pancakes at least once a week, I was pretty bummed about our high fructose corn syrup consumption. (Since it’s not the way sugar occurs in nature, our bodies aren’t able to process it the way they would real sugar, meaning that HFCS significantly contributes to weight gain and obesity.) Real maple syrup is delicious, but with the amount Matthew pours over his waffles (ok, ok…me too), it’s just not that worth the money we’d spend. Maybe in the future, when fifteen bucks a pop is no big deal, maybe then I’ll be ok with using more than a tablespoon at a time of the precious stuff. Meanwhile, we continued to use regular old pancake syrup, and I tried not to think about it. But every time I got out the bottle I thought, man…I wish there was pancake syrup withOUT high fructose corn syrup.

And then! Yesterday! I found it. It was perfect timing, too. We had run out of syrup, so I actually remembered to look while I was at the store. Lo and behold, this beautiful product.

It’s made of a combo of brown rice syrup, brown sugar, and even a little bit of the real good stuff for delicious flavor. It’s a few bucks more than the regular table syrup, but it’s at least a third of the cost of maple syrup. Sweet (literally), sweet compromise.

ADDENDUM: Oh, right. I guess I should tell you I found this syrup at Meijer, although I imagine you could find it elsewhere. Also, their original table syrup does not have HFCS in it either, which makes it a much better option than most table syrup, but it does contain some artificial flavoring, which the “all natural” variety supposedly does not.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “nerd.”

What do you think?

