the process.

This week will be better. I can (sort of) see the light in the end of the tunnel in terms of Eliza’s sleeping issues, but that’s still going to take a bit of time and determination. So why do I say that THIS week will be better?

Food.

Yep. I made a menu for this week for the first time in quite awhile, planning all new recipes, and went grocery shopping yesterday so we’re stocked. Food is important to me. It’s my motivation, my reward, and a fun process in and of itself. When I would work out at the Y before Eliza was born, I would watch cooking shows and rejoice in the fact that I like to eat healthfully, and I try to be active so I can eat whatever I want. Food=motivation. Sometimes when I have a task that’s hanging over my head, I make a deal with myself in terms of what I will eat, post completion of that task. Food=reward.

Most of all, though, it’s the process of cooking new things that is incredibly fulfilling for me. So fun. The joy of sharing a meal with people I love (or person, if it’s only Matthew and I) is a wonderful thing. I spent a mere half hour in the kitchen last night, chopping, sauteing, and simmering, and the end result was delicious. But more importantly, the process relaxed and focused me, and what had been a stressful, depressing day became okay again.

So yeah. This week will be better. It already has been.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

