Rebekah against the world: florence and the machine.

ORIGINAL TITLE: POP CULTURE HERESY.

No, not like the heresy that pop culture commits. Like the heresy I commit against pop culture.

Confused? Let me explain. But first, let me say that I think this has potential to become a thing on my blog. A thing whereby I express my dislike for something that everyone. else. in. the. entire world. likes. Yep. Everyone will hate me, but I’ll get the satisfaction that comes from finally letting go of the need to protect myself by pretending to like _______.

So here goes. Installment the first.

Florence and the Machine. (GASP!) I know. I picked a doozy for the first installment, right?

Listen, people, I’ve tried. And before I go into my reasons for disliking, I must admit, girl’s got a voice. A great voice. But, (and here commences my dislike) every song sounds the same. On every song she does her unearthly wail-y sort of deal, where you can’t quite understand the lyrics, and frankly? I’m bored. I’ve never made it through the album in its entirety…and I’m talking the first album. (I know, more scandal, more outrage.) Maybe the second album is better, but somebody’s going to have to do some major convincing before I’ll buy it. I’m happy I have the first album, because it will be a good way to liven up the shuffle setting on my iPod. Other than that? Like I said. Bored.

I have several bands like that on my iPod. There’s nothing wrong with a good shuffle-band. But they’re just not destined to become favorites of mine. Unfortunately, and against everything I’ve heard from every one, every magazine, and every rating, Florence and the Machine is hereby relegated to that iPod-on-shuffle category for me. Sorry, pop culture. Gillian Welch, Lisa Hannigan, and Patti Griffin continue to reign supreme on my female vocalist list. And that doesn’t appear to be changing any time soon.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

4 thoughts on “Rebekah against the world: florence and the machine.”

  1. Ok, I stand by you. And, with trepidation I will add:
    Fleetfoxes.
    (waiting for lightening to strike me down as I type)
    for all the same reasons you mentioned above. their albums sound like one big long song to me, all of them the same song.

What do you think?

