rebekah against the world: cake pops.

Here’s another quick edition of my brand new category of blog posts I am calling (wittily enough) “Rebekah against the world.” Hey, sometimes a straightforward title is just as good as any play on words. Yes? Anyway. Ok, moving right along, because Matthew is taking a brief hiatus from writing a paper for actual credit in a real class, and I only have five minutes.

Cake pops. I don’t get it. I have tried two varieties, because people have been raving for a few years now, and if you put anything on a lollipop stick it is evidently adorable. And I have a major sweet tooth, too…but this? This I don’t get. If you are going to indulge your craving for sweets, don’t you want something a little more refined (ha! get it?) than cake that is mashed up into crumbs, stirred into a bucket of icing, and then rolled into balls? What are we, like eight years old? (But if you laugh at fart noises, that’s totally cool with me.)

Bottom line: I love sweets. But this gives me a stomach ache. I’d rather stick with my favorite poison, namely chocolate chip cookies. Or ice cream. Or fancy bread pudding…or. Ok, the point is: almost any dessert is better than a cake pop.

And that is my bold stance against the popular little treat that tries to trick you with its cuteness into thinking it is worth the calories.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

4 thoughts on “rebekah against the world: cake pops.”

  1. 9 out of 10 times I agree with this (especially store bought versions). I had some leftover chocolate cake and espresso filling from my last layer cake endeavor and decided to take on cake balls. Maybe it’s because I used espresso cream cheese filling (not super sweet at all) and kahlua for the inside, then just dipped them in white chocolate and rolled them in crushed almonds and espresso powder. They were killer. So the traditional cake mashed with a jar of pre-packaged icing–totally agree. Leftover cake (or in my case, cake I cut off of layers to even up a layer cake) with filling and non SUPER SWEET icing=WIN! Sorry for the extremely long comment. yikes.

What do you think?

