some un-witty thoughts.

It has been awhile since I’ve written. I think it has been awhile because all I had to write about was the sort of same old, same old, day to day grind of new motherhood, exhaustion, and trying to keep the house clean.

I have always wanted to be special. (I know, I know, everyone is special but just hang on.) I wanted people to think that I was smart, funny, interesting. A good conversationalist. I still do. And the fact that right now, my life is more about the less-glamorous-and-more-mundane character building that comes from constantly having dishes piled up because I am constantly more lazy than I should be, as well as more tired than I’d like, well…that fact makes me a little nervous about writing. I always have a few friends in mind when I write (is that weird?) and it’s a temptation for me to feel that writing about mama stuff is less important or interesting and therefore not valid or worthwhile. I mean, I am the girl who dislikes (many of the) songs I’ve written because they are not genius. Really?

The thing is, I am really grateful for this time in my life. I am not very funny right now, at least not most of the time, because I’m too tired to think of the right thing to say at the right time. I’m not (seemingly) very smart right now, because…you got it! I’m too tired for my brain to work the way it used to (and hopefully hopefully will again someday). But I am gaining a lot of growth which, by its very nature, could not have happened any other way.

I have been thinking over the last several years that while being funny and witty is great, it can often be at the expense of others. Over the last several months I have been painfully learning that loving people well and self-sacrificially is something that even the least witty of us can do, and ultimately? I hope that I become the kind of person who would rather have it said of her that she was gracious and loving, rather than hilarious. Or, okay…maybe all three. 🙂

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “some un-witty thoughts.”

  1. Long live Rebekah Osborne*
    Grace and love are indeed to be desired above many other attributes, including being hilarious. Being hilarious, relative to itself and its own purposes is sometimes worth acheiving at others’ expenses (there, I said it). However being hilarious, relative to acheiving grace and love, (in my opinion) is not. Truth bombs are dropping left and right up in here.

    Sidenote. I don’t think it’s weird to write with other people in mind. In fact, I think it’s a really important part of the creative process. It’s neccesary for introspection.

    -John
    *long live the other Osbornes too.

  2. Nicely written, Rebekah. You should always write what you know to be real. You and your readers will appreciate your transparency. I have never been a big fan of humor at the expense of others; probably because throughout my life I have been on the raw end of a joke. It never feels good, and I sometimes wonder how it can make people feel good putting others down. I feel pointing out the good qualities in people goes a long way in building self-esteem in others and ourselves. Hug that sweet baby of yours and smile. Life is good.

What do you think?

