at least there’s ice cream

I woke up this morning after the best night in maybe a week, but was still achy and exhausted. We’re a little under the weather here, and as is the story of my life, dishes are piled up, driving me crazy and wrecking my self-esteem. I sighed as I fixed Eliza who knows what for breakfast…we’re out of “real” baby food for her so I made her some kind of polenta with white cornmeal and cinnamon. That’s food, right? I thought of my “long” to-do list. There were like three items on it, and even 9 months post-baby, that is suuuuper long. Suddenly overwhelmed, I wondered how in the world I would prioritize. And then, like an oasis in the desert, like a good book after a bunch of bad ones, like a bolt of sugary pick-me-up, I remembered! We actually have ice cream in the freezer. We never do, but today we do, because even though we did not watch the Super Bowl on Sunday, we wanted to snack.

So this day is still overwhelming…Eliza did not take a morning nap and instead we cuddled and watched parts of Aladdin, which admittedly was awesome…my nose is still constantly itching with an impending sneeze…my to-do list is still overwhelming me with all those three items. But hey! At least there’s ice cream!

 

(just write.)

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “at least there’s ice cream”

What do you think?

