rebekah vs. the world: the help.

The movie version, that is. I didn’t think the book was necessarily rave-worthy, but it was good, and i get it. The movie? Not so much. I mean, I actually like several of the actresses in the movie. In particular, Jessica Chastain, who is fantastic in everything I have seen her in, and was the bright spot in this movie for me.

Otherwise, I thought the movie was a dramatic, emotionally shallow version of what in the book was a very involving story. I found the (script) writing trite, and even though the fine actresses did their best, the whole thing fell flat for me. It didn’t feel genuine.

So, no. I don’t think that The Help should win an Oscar. I’ll be rooting for Jessica Chastain for best-supporting actress, though, because her performance carried the movie.

thatisall.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

