dr. dog

This past Saturday, Matthew and I headed to Chicago to meet up with our friend Dave, meet his girlfriend for the first time, and see Dr. Dog in concert. We planned it so that this would be our first overnight away from Eliza, and left her at my parents’, perfectly happy and surrounded by adoring faces applauding her every move.

We had been hit with a 24-hour flu bug a few days before the show, so up to the very last minute, Saturday morning, we had not decided for sure whether or not we were going to go. Dave had bought us tickets for Christmas, though, and this trip had been in the works for months, so even though I was still exhausted from recovering from the flu, plus being in my first trimester, we decided to go. I was really afraid it would not be worth it and that I would be unable to enjoy the show, but we ate chocolate, drank coffee, and had a great time talking together during the drive up to Chicago, so I was able to not worry too much.

We met up with Dave and his girl (who is awesome!) for dinner, and then walked to the venue which was around the corner from our restaurant. It was an old theater, kind of reminiscent of the Hilbert in downtown Indy, but just more dilapidated, in a good way. 🙂 The opening act was weird…kind of a mix between punk and grunge, with these super long, face-melting solos in each song. Confusing. But once Dr. Dog came on, all of my worries about the trip not being worth it completely vanished.

They were amazing! Seriously one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen. I could come up with some that were as good, but nonebetter, at this point. I sat the whole time, but I did some killer car dancing and enjoyed myself thoroughly. We were in the balcony, and most of the folks up there were sitting, to my delight, and the chagrin of five or six partiers who seemed to think it was their job to liven the rest of us up. They were super drunk, and also had a loaded cigar they were passing around once the show started, and the longer it went on the more ridiculous they got, prancing up and down the aisles, and turning around to yell at the rest of the audience for not dancing (fortunately the music was loud enough that we couldn’t hear them). One of them had purchased the new Dr. Dog on vinyl, and he never let go of it for the entirety of the show, alternately waving it in the air and clutching it to his side. Hilarious. I totally get the dancing…I wanted to, but was too tired…but if you really wanted to be surrounded by dancers you would have been down on the floor with the rest of the dancers. I assume they wanted to feel awesome and like they invented being drunk, high, and dancing.

Anyway, Dr. Dog was phenomenal, and we keep trying to come up with a way to make it work to go to the Indy show in a month. The fact that they made me forget I was tired may not seem that monumental to you, but I hope you will understand a little bit of how awesome that means they are.

I searched for awhile for some good live footage to share with you here so you could have a taste, but I couldn’t find much of good quality. I’ll keep looking and share later if I find something good.

Bottom line? See. Dr. Dog. If you ever have the chance.

 

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

