spring-time resolutions.

Things I care about but have let slip since having Eliza, in no particular order:

1. Fashion. I’m not obsessed, not exactly super hip, and I certainly don’t spend lots of money (any) on clothes, but I like to like my outfits. I have been wearing sweats/pajama pants the majority of my days. I’m going to start getting dressed.

2. Cooking. This has been let go off and on since Eliza was born, but has gotten completely out of hand since I’ve been pregnant with number two. I’ve been coming up with some new strategies to always have food on hand that I can cook, even when the meal I’ve planned no longer sounds good.

3. Hanging out with friends, and hosting. Don’t get me wrong. I’m sort of half extro-, half introvert. I need my home alone time, and I will never be the mom with play-dates scheduled every day. But I’ve been hibernating, and it has to stop. I’ve got several strategies for this one. I’m trying to let go of my desire for our house to be nice and perfect. It’s an old house and there are things we’re never going to fix since it’s a rental, ergo there will always be things I dislike/hate. Doesn’t matter. I’m also going to try to stay on top of the dishes so that the kitchen isn’t embarrassing. AND I’ve scheduled a big musical shindig at our house in a month’s time, to  celebrate the end of winter and my hibernation. 🙂

I love spring. I love the feeling that some things are possible. Maybe not anything, but some things. I can’t fix everything in my life, but I can take small steps to make my life more…mine. To live more the way I want to live.

There is hope!

 

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

4 thoughts on “spring-time resolutions.”

  1. Your blog posts are always thoughtful, honest, good humored (even the exasperated ones) and *always* inspire me.

What do you think?

