these days.

I’m learning that boredom is a powerful motivator for me. Last year I worked out more regularly than I ever have in my life, because my choice was either to exercise or sit for two hours at the YMCA while the developmentally disabled man I worked with ran and sat in the hot tub. I had to fight boredom the rest of the workday by reading books and trying to solve crossword and sudoku puzzles, so a workout was a welcome change from that monotony.

Fast forward a year later, and I’m in the same position of having to find ways to fill the majority of my day. Now that I’m out of the first trimester, and feeling more energetic, boredom is always lurking. A few weeks ago, I would try my darnedest to get the dishes done in the day, and that was it. I could lay around doing nothing but watch old tv episodes on hulu, and not get bored at all. Those days are no more (although I still watch my fair share of tv to distract from the monotony of washing dishes…booooring…). Today, motivated almost purely by boredom, I have washed all the dishes, attempted to kill off the sudden ant infestation that literally occurred overnight, swept and spot-mopped the kitchen floor, and swept the entire first floor, plus the stairs and landing. I’ve also done a load of laundry, and you know I’m bored when laundry becomes an option. Dinner is in progression already as well.

I’ve been wishing I had a hobby, or some skill I was working on developing, to help combat the boredom of these days. I know they won’t last forever. Eliza won’t take a morning and afternoon nap much longer, and sooner than I can wrap my head around it I will have another baby to care for. And as someone who has only recently acquired the magical and elusive combination of motivation and energy to just keep the kitchen clean, I’m leery of introducing an inevitably mess-producing pastime into my life. I can see it now: I get out the sewing machine thinking this! will be the time I finally figure it out, it goes well for fifteen minutes, then the thread gets tangled, I get pissed and leave the whole darn mess, just to calm down. Then it’s three days later and there’s still cloth and thread everywhere. No thanks.

So until I come up with the perfect hobby for someone who hates hobbies, I will continue cleaning, cooking, reading, watching tv, and, of course, playing with my favorite little almost one year old. And I’ll try to stop feeling like I must be productive in some tangible, intellectual or creative way every second of every day. Just relax, Rebekah. Just relax. Oooh! Although, it is almost time to garden, which I’ve always wanted to try….

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “these days.”

What do you think?

