i give up.

No, no, not on anything serious. Sorry. That’s just the thought that prompted the writing of this post. Those of you who know me well know that I love to cook and bake. And I’m pretty decent at it. I don’t necessarily create culinary masterpieces of creativity, but I don’t have many flops either. No flat failures, that is, not until the past week.

In the past week, I have baked exactly four times, and exactly four times out of four, there was some sort of catastrophe involved. The word “catastrophe” may seem a little dramatic, but I’m sure my fellow cooks and bakers out there can sympathize. It truly feels like a disaster when you make something that isn’t a success, even if it’s just “meh”.

First I made these gooey cinnamon biscuits that sounded awesome and promised to fill my craving for donuts, as a decent substitution. Only I forgot the baking powder. Enter flat failure number one: the biscuits were tough slabs, greasy and unappetizing, cinnamon sugar notwithstanding. And I love cinnamon sugar.

Yesterday, not content with my “okay” blueberry muffin recipe, I fell prey to the urge to find the “perfect” recipe. Sometimes you should just be okay with “okay”. The new recipe looked great, but I’ll never know, because i forgot to put in the baking powderagain, until everything was mixed up. I added it last minute and had to mix everything again, and the gluten in the flour by this point was very thoroughly developed, which amounted to tough, flat, dense bread muffins. I don’t know if you understand what I mean by that, but if you bake perhaps you do. I was really looking forward to the muffins, too, which made this failure even sadder.

This morning, determined to redeem myself, I decided to make blueberry muffins again, but this time to stick with my tried and true “okay” recipe. I mixed everything up, careful not to over-mix, popped them in the oven. As I peeked in at them a few minutes ago, rejoicing in the obvious fluffiness of these muffins due to the baking powder properly added to the mix, I realized with a  sinking heart that I had not put any sugar in them. None whatsoever. I always use much less sugar than the recipe calls for, so I’m not eating cake for breakfast, but no sweetener of any kind seems a little excessive, no offense to my friends on the GAPs diet. 🙂

Oh, the other failure is a more simple one…I made cookie bars but forgot to move the oven rack down in the toaster oven I was using to bake them, resulting in broiled cookies with a very, very brown crust on top. Whatever.

I give up. I was going to make bread this morning, but I’m a little scared to after the newly developed track record I’ve got going. We’ll figure out something else for lunch.

 

UPDATE: The sugarless blueberry muffins were actually quite good. Evidently the baking powder is much, much more important than the sugar. (Although, as per my love of cinnamon sugar, I did sprinkle a little on there just for a tiny bit of sweetness.)

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

