why i write.

I’ve been thinking lately about why I write, what I write. I obviously mostly write about my life, with side forays into other areas of interest. But when I write about my life, I write about the hard stuff, the good, and the random in-between. I try really hard to do justice to all of it, because I think it’s really important to remember. To soak in the experience, try to learn what I can, and file it away for the future, when I might experience something similar again.

I think it’s somewhat unusual in this culture to embrace it (or even acknowledge it) when life is hard. We think we deserve the good life, that if life isn’t easy something is wrong. And so we either hide it when life gets difficult, and pretend that everything is ok, or we get thrown into despair because reality doesn’t line up with our rationale of how the world should work. And I’m not going to pretend that I don’t live at both ends of that spectrum at various times. But as a Christian, as a follower of Jesus who tries to take scripture as my rationale for the way the world works, I know that I’m not promised the easy life. In fact, I’m told not to be surprised when hard times come to test me, as if something strange were happening (1 Peter 4:12). But I am promised peace, and told not to be afraid (John 14:27).

So, I write. I write in order to process what is happening in my life, and to bring myself back to a place of being centered on what I believe is true about the world. I write in this “public” place, so that other people can read of my experiences and perhaps be encouraged to discard the old rationale that falls to pieces when life’s not perfect, and instead embrace the peace that comes even in the midst of hardship. And I write to remember, to look back at my life and say, “Thus far the Lord has helped me.”

Jesus said: “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

