baby stuff (born and unborn). every little detail, probably boring.

BORN BABY: Last night was the Worst. Night. Ever. Even counting the dark night just after Eliza’s birth when I swore never to have another child. (I obviously got over that sentiment in record time, but whatever.) Eliza is getting at least one molar and one other tooth, and it seemed as though we were going to breeze our way through the process, like every other time she has cut teeth. Last week I was shocked to find that one of her molars had already cut its way through, because I had no idea she was teething. Yesterday afternoon, however, she spiked a fever and has been running a fever off and on ever since. First fever of any significance, and little girl is miserable. Last night she woke up around 3, burning up, and stayed up for about two hours. She is not a cuddly baby at all. At ALL. Affectionate, yes. Cuddly, no. But even though I knew this fact with certainty, I had the standard of comforting mama who cuddles and makes baby feel better in my head, so rather than give her tylenol, sponge her down, and put her back to bed, I forced cuddle time on her. Big mistake. She threw a fit, and finally I had no choice but to put my screaming, sick, toddler back in bed and walk out the door. I spent the worst twenty minutes of my life (almost no exaggeration) lying on my bed in the room next to her, sobbing because why couldn’t I just cuddle my sick baby? Who just lets their feverish baby scream? A mama who knows that what’s best for her baby is more important than what feels best or more validating for mama, I guess. But it was awful. Awful. She cried for fifteen, twenty minutes, and then I went back in with some warm milk, and she fell right back asleep. But may I repeat, worst night ever? Okay, thanks.

UNBORN BABY: I had my first prenatal appointment this morning. Yes, I am 21 weeks pregnant. This was not the plan, but what began as an attempt to wait until maybe 16 weeks, ended with me calling an unresponsive lady at the clinic once a week for a month. Hence the late first visit. Totally fine with it, though, because this first half has flown by. We heard the baby’s heartbeat for approximately five seconds, because this child wiggles like crazy. The ultrasound is scheduled for next week and I am beyond excited to find out who’s in there. At times, I am still almost giddy with excitement at the thought of meeting this baby and snuggling with him or her. I loved my time with newborn Eliza, and the anticipation and excitement I feel for this next newborn time is kind of ridiculous. With Eliza, I could hardly get my head around the fact that there was a literal, actual baby in there, let alone imagine meeting her. Anyway, the pregnancy is going well, and I feel great. I would like to find some kind of exercise routine I can do at home, though. I don’t mind gaining weight for the baby, but I would like to be a little more active and feel better.

Alright. That is my lengthy, wordy, unnecessary update on both my babies. Done.

 

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

