the scatterbrained list.

I want so badly to take a nap right now, but Eliza is loudly talking to herself in her crib, so a nap is out for the moment. Writing it is! And in everyone’s favorite format: the list! (Chill out with the exclamation points, Rebekah!)

1. This morning Eliza sat on the floor with a book and “read” it to herself. It was amazing to watch. She jabbered a little for each page, and turned all of the cardboard pages herself. So fun. I can’t believe she’s already pretending to read to herself. She is only one-year-and-three-weeks old! It doesn’t seem like she should be so…old. But then, a half hour later, she tried to stick her finger in Henry’s bottom, so that, in a strange way, comforted me. She’s not so very old yet. (And a cat’s behind is so bright! Especially when he’s black everywhere else.)

2. I recorded a song yesterday, which I’ll be contributing to a compilation of songs for Ascension, which is a day in the church calendar when Christians remember Jesus’ ascension into heaven after the resurrection. I rewrote a super old hymn by a German Reformer named Johannes Zwick. The hymn was probably written in the early 1500s–super cool. I had the most fun recording yesterday. I think I am becoming slightly more confident and opinionated, in a good way, so recording was not overwhelming, and was just a blast. Plus, the more I listened to the song, the more I liked my melody, which was a nice bonus! Stay tuned for that recording sometime soon.

3. I’ve been commissioned to write a song for an organization that works with artists in the city of Indianapolis. They want to branch out in the kinds of art they have that are inspired by this city, and asked me to try to contribute. I’m really nervous, and up to this point, I have been feeling like quitting before I start. I am desperately afraid that I will hate whatever I come up with, and right now, just not writing anything feels like the better option. You can’t fail if you don’t try, right? That’s a saying, right?

4. I have a little bit of birthday money, and I am really excited to hit up Target and Goodwill, and hopefully stock my maternity wardrobe for the summer. I wore the same dress literally every day last week, because it’s the only one I had. I should probably fix that, so I’m not disgusting all summer. Or at least, not quite as disgusting. Because I will always wear my clothes longer before washing them than some people.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

