frankenstein’s monster.

Sometimes my passion for literature, and the correct citing of it, can be a downright curse. For example, there’s this really great song, which I would absolutely love, were it not for the fact that it incorrectly calls Frankenstein’s monster by the name Frankenstein. Many people get this confused, so may I just say, once for all, that the monster has no name! Frankenstein is the name of the scientist who made the monster. So when the pretty song goes into the chorus: “I feel like I’m some kind of Frankenstein/waiting for a spark to bring me back to life” I cringe every time, and mentally add ” ‘s monster” which completely ruins the flow of the song, but renders it a more accurate reference to the book.

Just a little peek inside my mind. Aren’t you glad you don’t live there? Happy Friday!

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “frankenstein’s monster.”

  1. Oddly enough…this is one of MY biggest pet peeves when people talk about literature as well. The Frankenstein’s monster issue sets me on edge every time! (Just ask my Husband, lol)

  2. While this peaves me as well, I tell myself to get over it because I didn’t like that book anyway. haha
    One of my other peaves in regard to this book is that I have yet to find a film version that is anywhere near accurate. I have the hardest time getting over discrepancies between books and their movie counterparts.

What do you think?

