consistent.

Eliza has started throwing tantrums on a daily basis. It started last week when she was sick for most of the week, and we were probably a little overly sympathetic to her every whine and moan. The tantrums are not big ones, but she prefers whining, crying, or screaming as a way of getting her point across, and it’s getting old. The most ridiculous part is that they literally have no cause other than the fact that she does not always get exactly what she wants. This morning she worked herself into a sobbing, screeching mess within 30 seconds because, while I succumbed to her desire to be held, I did not immediately get up and walk in whatever direction she arbitrarily pointed her finger. Really?

I’ve been realizing lately that this parenting business is about to get REAL. Today I popped her in her bed to let her work it out, and I think I’m going to have to start consistently doing that. Consistently providing the consequences to her misbehavior. The scariest part about that is that me and consistently anything don’t usually go hand in hand.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

1 thought on “consistent.”

  1. ugh, I know. It’s hard, not gonna lie. I continually struggle with being consistent with my kids. I guess if anything, know that you’re not alone.

What do you think?

