a request (with many parenthetical interuptions).

Matthew and I were talking the other day about how we feel dumb. Our brains don’t move at the rate they used to. When we hang out with our (perhaps younger, but mostly just) childless friends, the conversation bounces around us at a rapid rate, while we sit with mindless grins on our faces. Or at least, that’s how I feel a lot of the time.

But I have been doing my best to feed my mind at least a little, lately. I kid you not, I have read at least 30 books in the six weeks (I read really fast, it’s not really that big of an accomplishment). And while half of them were young adult (re-reading Harry Potter, beginning the Ender’s series again), probably half were “real” literature. (I keep having to remind myself not to say “adult fiction” because that just sounds slimy.) No matter the reading material, I feel better about spending hours reading rather than watching tv, while Eliza is still taking two naps many days. Plus I’ve given up on our present living situation, so I just keep the dishes washed and the bathroom mostly not filthy, and call it a day.

The point is, I want you to recommend books to me. As long as I have library books on the kindle, I don’t go crazy, and my brain doesn’t shrivel up and die. I will read anything, honestly, as long as it has some merit. I do not, for example, think that the Twilight series has merit (and I even read one or two to find out), but your suggestions can range from your favorite young adult fiction, to classic literature, to memoirs, to science fiction, to nonfiction in a variety of topics.

Fire away! Operation save Rebekah’s brain has commenced.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

8 thoughts on “a request (with many parenthetical interuptions).”

  1. This is totally my science dork coming out, but one of my favorite books is “E=MC2 A Biography of the World’s Most Famous Equation” by David Bodanis. It’s literally a biography of Einstein’s equation; it puts all of the pieces together in a well written way that is easy to understand. It’s written for YA so the science part isn’t difficult to understand. It’s a fairly quick read. Liam and I are going to get our Cincy library cards today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Love it! I will have to read it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yay for library cards. We got ours first thing after moving to Indy, and it was one of the things that made this new city feel more like home.

  2. I read Indy library books on my kindle too. A few downloadables I’ve found really good:
    – the immortal life of henrietta lacks (super easy read, very fascinating, and will make you feel smart)
    – the night circus
    – miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children
    – devil in the white city

What do you think?

