surreal.

So, knowing when you’re going to go into labor, assuming it doesn’t happen in the next 23 hours on its own, is a very surreal feeling. I’m having a lot of trouble figuring out what should be a priority on my last day. I mean, I’d love to say that I’m full of super-nester energy and plan on cleaning the house top to bottom. But I think I’ll probably pay bills, sweep the downstairs and declutter the dining room table, and be satisfied…ish. Although I’m thinking a cappuccino from Calvin Fletcher’s should probably make its way to the top of my list. And things like baking a cake, however much I want to, should probably be left for a later time, a time when I don’t want to avoid dirtying dishes at all costs.

Whatever happens, I’m going to try to enjoy Eliza’s company as much as I can, because I’m really going to miss her for the next two days. If she stays as grouchy as she’s been thus far this morning, though, even that item might not really be accomplished.

You guys, by day after tomorrow, we’re going to have a baby. Not a pregnancy that’s gone way past the due-date. Not a list of uncomfortable symptoms, or a belly that almost suffocates me when I try to roll over at night. We’re going to meet our baby, and he’ll be real. As unreal as it feels today.

See you on the other side.

P. S. Turns out this was my 100th post. I kind of wish it had been more memorable now.

P. P. S. To those of you who were wondering, we’re just moving to a different neighborhood in Indy, St. Clair Place. We’re really excited…or we will be once the move is over.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

1 thought on “surreal.”

  1. Personally, I think it’s pretty memorable that this is (most likely) your last post as a mother of one. Your last post PW (pre-Wyatt), and so, so many people are watching for the next big thing – Wyatt.

What do you think?

