fashion survey.

I have been thinking a lot in the last few months about my wardrobe. Perhaps it was prompted by the fact that I was hugely pregnant and could not wear some of my maternity clothes anymore, let alone any of my normal clothes. In any case, I realized that I have had some of my items of clothing for at least 8 years, which wouldn’t be a problem at all except for the fact that 8 years ago I was in college and probably the skinniest I’ll ever be. Now I have given birth to two children, and while I expect to lose the baby weight without much issue (here’s hoping it goes the way it did with Eliza!), my body simply is not the same as it was when I was 18. That’s fine.

But it brings me to the purpose of this post. I want to start accumulating some well-made, good quality wardrobe staples. Classic pieces that I can mix and match and wear for years to come. Much of my wardrobe has been acquired in a very reactionary way thus far. I have a wedding to go to, and nothing to wear! So I purchase any old thing that will work, which usually means not very good quality, not the perfect fit, or maybe it’s trendy enough that I will wear it once but feel like I can’t pull it off again. I want to begin building a wardrobe in a thoughtful, intentional way, rather than in reaction to emergencies like the one previously mentioned. I want to carefully stock my wardrobe, in the hopes that I will be able to worry less about what to wear in the future.

This is where you come in. In your opinion, what are wardrobe staples, must-haves that stand the test of time? I’m talking the works. Dresses, skirts, pants, shoes. What should I put on my list to thoughtfully purchase over the next year?

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

5 thoughts on “fashion survey.”

  1. I have had the same dilemma, and I am still working on mine! Some ideas might be:
    an awesome, go to pair of jeans
    a little black dress
    a cashmere sweater
    a dark denim jacket
    classy, flat, rain/snow resistant boots
    colorful pashmina
    several black/white tanks to go under things
    a blazer

  2. I know this is out of my element, but from every fashion show that I’ve come across, it seems that a nice a-line skirt is a must.

  3. These aren’t so much closet must-haves, as much as decision-making tools. Here’s what I’ve learned from my thrifty years, and my living-out-of-one-suitcase-for-six-months experience:

    —>Find 2-3 colors that you LOVE to wear – start buying flattering pieces there.
    – – this way, even if you only have a few tops that fit you, you’ll love wearing them each and every time
    —>The little black dress is a must
    – – Personally, though, i say 2 little black dresses. One for dressing up, one for being casual, but classy
    —> If you can’t think of multiple situations where you’ll wear this piece, don’t buy it.
    – – My “business clothes” now only look about one accessory different from my coffee-at-the-mall clothes. Maybe that means I shouldn’t be so casual at work, but I like the simplicity
    – -> Don’t buy simple bc it’s a must-have. You’re not going to like wearing it, so then you’ll impulse-buy to replace it and the cycle continues…..i feel like you know that already :-/
    – -> Quality needs to go hand-in-hand with liking what you wear. Or you’ll never, ever wear it. Of course!

    Okay, some must-haves:
    – Neutral slacks – black or charcoal [I love brown, but quite frankly – it’s not as neutral as I pretend]
    – A couple a-line skirts
    – Cardigans that go with various tops – dress-up or dress-down
    – Perfect-fit, dark jeans [I suggest straight-leg bc it’s more classic]
    – Sweaters
    – Flowy top – casual with shorts/jeans, dressier with a skirt
    – 1-2 blazers [edgy, but businessy]
    – A few dresses – best thing my mother ever taught me about fashion was that a dress was the easiest way to make an outfit – one fell swoop!
    – The little Black dress
    – Scarves – Pashmina is a good option 🙂
    – Thin tanktops – TARGET! – to layer – I’ve given up on black and white, and switched to colors since I don’t wear black or white often enough

What do you think?

