it’s christmas time!

So, I might be the world’s worst gift-giver. I aspire to give good gifts, I want to get better at brainstorming them, or at least keeping track of ideas. But the fact remains: I’m not sure that I’ve given Matthew anything for any of the Christmases we’ve been married. Right? Worst gift-giver ever. He says it’s ok, but I have my doubts. They are, perhaps, self-doubts, but I think they may have some basis in fact.

Anyway, that’s all changed this year! I know what I’m giving him! And I wasn’t even going to let on that I was giving him anything. I had it all planned out. I would play it cool, pretend it was like any other year (in which, on Christmas day, I say I’ll try and think of something to give him soon, but then never do) but instead I surprise him with the perfect gift. He wouldn’t even see it coming.

Until, today, he happened to come home for lunch while I was looking at something online, regarding his present. Instead of remaining calm, exiting the window and going on with my day, I panicked. My heart rate jumped, and while I did close the browser without him even realizing what was going on, I then promptly dissolved into the worst fit of giggles. Like, tears in my eyes, I was laughing so hard. And, well, he noticed that.

How do you recover from that? I was all, “I’m so tired” and “sorry, I just got really giddy” but he was understandably confounded and kept asking what was happening. Finally I had to come clean. I am getting him a Christmas present, and now he knows that it’s happening. But it’s still the perfect gift, he still has no idea (as far as I know) what it is, and this is still the first time this has ever happened.

Best Christmas ever. Except for the part where we have to do a lot of driving with two passengers who are unfamiliar with the idea of sleeping in the car.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

