Dust to Dust.

I wrote this offertory this past week during various nap times. Of necessity, during the writing and practicing of this song, I sang really quietly, but had a vision in my head of it being something bigger. At practice on Thursday night, I heard it for the first time at full volume, and each of the other musicians brought something special to the mix. The recording I’m sharing was made during the first service on Sunday, and it was only the third time we’d played the song together! It’s so great to play with such talented individuals.

The song is a reflection on my nature, and inability to change my heart, and a plea to God for mercy. It was inspired by the Ash Wednesday service, and a sermon preached a few weeks ago about Peter’s denial of Christ.

I’m both really proud of this song, and really thankful for it. It is one of the songs I’ve written in this new era that 2013 is becoming for my writing, in which it is becoming more of a discipline and less about waiting for some hazy inspiration to strike (although I still love when that happens). Hope you enjoy it!

Dust to Dust.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

1 thought on “Dust to Dust.”

What do you think?

