Have Mercy

This song was played as an offertory this past Sunday. It was a complete departure for me in several ways, which made me very nervous. First of all, when I write it’s typically a very logical exercise. I am usually writing about emotion, but I’m trying to find the exact words to express that emotion so that people will be able to understand what I’m feeling. So, I add on words and verses just to try to get my point across. This song has very few words. 24 to be exact. I realized as I was trying to write verses for it, that I was really just trying to qualify, and explain away the emotions I’d been feeling, when really the prayer that was in my head was simply “help me.”

Second, because there were so few words, but I wanted the song to be a normal length, I knew I was going to have to have a musical vision to fill it out. This is not my forte, although I’m trying to stretch myself. This song was certainly stretching. To limit myself on the words side of things, and try to use music to help express what I was feeling? Yeah. Uncomfortable. 

Fortunately, as is always the case at Redeemer, I was working with talented musicians who took my stuttered and stammered direction and made it a reality. What a blessing. I was still really nervous both times we played in on Sunday morning, my heart was pounding the hardest it has in recent memory. But this song ended up being quite an amazing experience for me. I hope you enjoy it.

Oh. Those 24 words are as follows: 

(Help me. Heal me. Free me. Save me.)
Lord Jesus Christ, Have mercy on me, the sinner.
Lord Jesus Christ, have mercy on me.

 

Have Mercy.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

10 thoughts on “Have Mercy”

What do you think?

