i will see God.

I wrote this song and performed it as an offertory a few months back. I have been so excited to get my hands on a recording to share with you all, and I’m really happy with how it all turned out. It was one of those Sundays where everything just came together so well, musically, tonally, the whole thing. (Full disclosure: this is a live recording, but when Nathan mastered it, he added background vocals since there wasn’t another singer that Sunday.)

The song lyrics are completely ripped from Job, like word for word. Job 19:25-27. These verses are just achingly beautiful, and they haunted me the first time I saw them. My sister had hung them up on the wall in her bedroom, but without the reference, and I thought they were some sort of Puritan poetry. Fast forward a year or so later, and I read them in an article about the lady who, as a child, was in the Pulitzer prize winning photo from the Vietnam War. You’ve seen the photo, with the naked little girl fleeing from the bombs that had been detonated in what’s now Ho Chi Minh City. Anyway, at the end of the article, it included these verses from Job, and as I read the beautiful, stark words again, tears sprang to my eyes. I couldn’t get them out of my head and knew that I needed to try to write a song around them. At first I thought I might try to add some lyrics of my own, but in the end came to the conclusion that I couldn’t bear to have any second-rate words distracting from their simple, almost severe, beauty.

I was also a little nervous about my melody doing justice to the words, but I ended up feeling very pleased with how it all turned out.

So, without further ado: I Will See God.

I know that my redeemer lives,
and that in the end he will stand on the earth.
And after my skin has been destroyed,
yet in my flesh I will see God;
I myself will see him
with my own eyes—I, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

2 thoughts on “i will see God.”

What do you think?

