give me a song to sing.

I wrote this song a few weeks ago, and it was the first song I’d written in months. At first it was incredibly frustrating, because I had nothing to say, and no space to say it. Sometimes when that happens, I have to fight for humility and accept the fact that I will not always like what I wrote, but that God can (and does) use it anyway. I’d rather him only use songs I approve of artistically. Sometimes I literally hate the song I’m singing on Sunday morning, and never want to hear it again.

Sometimes, though, God is gracious enough to reward the discipline of writing even when I don’t feel like it and I end up with a song that I like, sometimes even one that is a step forward for me musically. This was one of those times. This song is completely different, I think, than any other song I’ve written. So that’s fun.

When I’m stuck for lyrics, I try to write out as simply as I can exactly what I’m thinking or feeling. That’s where this chorus came from, and I really like it. I got to play (or was forced to play even though I didn’t feel like I was ready to but ended up being really glad I did play) electric on this song for the first time ever in my life. I also wrote the melody while my kids were watching Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood in the next room (if you’re a parent with pbs watching kids, you know just how annoying those songs are), so this song has a lot of fun backstory to it.

Writing is an altogether different experience for me these days.

No more rambling.
Give Me A Song To Sing.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

