I Need You.

I just realized I never posted this song. It was an offertory from last summer sometime. I don’t remember much about what prompted me to write it, although the lyrics are pretty straightforward in terms of what I was thinking/feeling. (I think it probably was written around the same time I wrote this blog entry.) I do remember that I wrote in one naptime. I had been panicking about what to write, I was past my “deadline” (which is somewhat flexible but I still felt bad) so I called my mom and had her pray that God would help me write something. The fact that I then sat down and wrote out the entirety of this song in one take, and it ended up being one that I really liked? Well. My mom gets what she prays for, is all I’m saying.

I did do a little editing on this song, which I never used to be able to do. Historically, whatever I write out the first time is what the song ends up being, for better or worse. I have trouble separating myself from what I’ve already written, lyrically and melodically, and so it’s really difficult for me to edit and come up with different drafts of a song. Working at Redeemer, with Nathan (the lead musician) has given me somebody to sort of workshop my songs and I’ve learned a lot about revising. On this particular song, we change the melody a little bit on the verses and chorus to add more continuity, and we also brainstormed words for the chorus, landing on “infatuate” as the word that best fit what I wanted to describe (I had initially used “captivate” but wasn’t pleased with it). As I continue writing, one of the areas I hope to grow in is editing and revising. This song was the end result of one of my first really productive revision sessions, hopefully the first of many to come.

Hope you enjoy it.

 

 

I Need You. (lyrics here.)

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

What do you think?

