what i have is enough.

Money is super tight round these parts right now. We always have enough, though never a lot, which is surprising when you consider we are a musician/stay-at-home mom, and a furniture designer and maker/founder of a fledging business. Look, sometimes you make sacrifices to do what you want, ok?

Anyway, mostly when we have a month or two where we’re scraping the bottom of the barrel, it can be very stressful. This month is no different, but today as I was sweeping the floor, my kids playing contentedly around me, I realized that this Saturday has been really peaceful. I’ve neatened the house, washed some dishes, hung out with my kids, even enjoyed the pleasant surprise of a brief visit from old friends. And I think the lack of excess income is actually contributing to the simplicity and peace of my day.

The weekend is kind of supposed to be a time when you run errands, do fun things, get stuff done, right, but the fact that I have no money to spend means I’m not rushing about trying to figure out what to buy. I’m not buying into the idea that some new thing will make my life better. I’m learning to find where I am and what I have to be enough.

For a brief moment, today, I found contentment and gratitude in this season of scarcity, and I’m grabbing on with both hands, putting it down in black and white because I don’t want to forget that it’s possible.

Author: rebekahkayosborn

I am attempting to capture the events, non-events, and thoughts about each, as they occur in the increasing busy-ness of life. As my professors always said "You might want to write this down." Who knows what could turn out to be important?

1 thought on “what i have is enough.”

What do you think?

